Article overview

Help article

Will the DNS settings of my domain remain intact after a domain transfer?

When moving domains the default TransIP DNS settings of your domain are applied. When you transfer a domain and simultaneously order a hosting package to go with it, the DNS settings will be automatically configured to refer to your hosting package. If you don't order a hosting package, your DNS settings will point your website to the 'TransIP reserved'-page.

However you can also, for some time after the transfer, use the existing DNS settings of your domain. We advise you to request the transfer with the nameservers that are currently active on this domain. Your current nameservers can be found in the WHOIS information of the domain. After the transfer is completed, you can submit the desired DNS settings via your Control Panel and subsequently activate the TransIP domain nameservers.

Do you have a good idea?

Give us your idea! If it's popular we'll add it to the wishlist!

Has this article been helpful?

Create an account or log in to leave a rating.

Share this article

Comments

Create an account or log in to be able to leave a comment.

Are you stuck?

Ask one of our specialists to assist you

Contact us